A Tribute to Lavender: Lavender Shortbread


Okay so I was supposed to write a 400-word write-up for school, my fingers finally got typing and I can’t resist not writing a blog entry that I’ve promised my friend since weeks ago!

I’ve been wanting to bake with lavender since I watched an episode of Masterchef Australia (2 seasons ago, I know I’m slow) featuring Fiona’s Chocolate Ganache, Lavender Cream and Raspberry Tart. And I finally got the courage to stomp into Phoon Huat to grab (okay, buy) a packet of dried lavender flowers. It’s really not expensive at all, can be kept in the fridge for a long time, and a little pinch goes a long way in spreading its scent to any dessert!

Image

This shortbread recipe is different from before, it gives a really light and crumbly texture instead of the dense shortbread cookies you see in supermarkets. And the scent of lavender is so delicate it calms you down after a long day of school or work. Best enjoyed with a cup of warm tea, I recommend Earl Grey. :)

I encountered a bit of difficulty with the dough softening too quickly in the warm and humid environment, but it can be easily salvaged by me being less lazy and returning the dough into the fridge when it’s not needed.

Here’s the recipe, with a few tips from me.

LAVENDER SHORTBREAD

(adapted from Dessert First)

1 cup butter, softened
2 cups flour (all-purpose or plain), sifted
1/2 cup superfine sugar (caster sugar, it’s finer than normal fine sugar)
1 tablespoon dried lavender

DIRECTIONS

1. Beat the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl till creamy. Add the flour, beat till combined. Add the lavender, and beat till distributed throughout the dough.

2. Scrape the dough mixture onto a sheet of cling wrap, use your fingers to press it into a disk. (The mixture would be slightly soft and sticky, but don’t worry because it will harden in the fridge) Wrap it tightly in the cling film, put it on an even surface (e.g., plate or tray) and refrigerate until firm, at least an hour.

3. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius.

4. Roll out the dough to about 1/4″ thickness and cut desired shapes. (Here’s when cute cookie cutters come in handy!) Place on baking tray lined with baking paper and bake till just golden, about 18 minutes. Let the cookies cool in the tray for 5 minutes before transferring on wire rack.

One thought on “A Tribute to Lavender: Lavender Shortbread

  1. Laura Boyle says:

    Kelly– this is perfect! Exactly what I’ve been looking for! Your photo is fantastic– I’m just waiting for my lavender to bloom in order to bake up my own batch! I’d love to chat with you about the possibility of reposting this article– please get in touch!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,090 other followers

