“Seriously Mochi” Cake


Crispy Crust… Chewy Center… Coconuty.. Satisfying!

Vanilla Bean Mochi Cake

I have searched high and low for a chewy mochi cake recipe, and I found a Coconut Mochi Cake originating from Hawaii, with looooooong rave reviews from the bloggers and blog readers! Truthfully I was a little apprehensive about the coconut milk at the start, wasn’t such a huge fan of coconut milk nor desiccated coconut (you will never see this in any of my desserts).

Hopefully you aren’t turned off by this cake yet, because more fun is to come!! Baking this cake was like an exciting roller-coaster ride for me, okay let me explain:

Slow rise to the top

Like many of my other recipes, preparing the cake mixture is an absolute breeze. Just make sure you’ve gotten all your ingredients on the kitchen counter, and start measuring, putting the dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ingredients in another bowl. You do this so that you don’t have to run all over the kitchen later on and fumble with the measuring cups and spoons. So as you all fellow bakers probably understand, I had a jolly easy time with this.

Up and down and up and down and up and down and up and down

When I put the cake in the oven I was REALLY excited, I thought since the baking session had started so well, the whole process would be just perfect. So this sense of excitement brought me back to the kitchen every 5 minutes while I was supposed to be doing my assignment in the room. With each 5 minutes, the cake rose, and rose, and rose, and rose… I was so worried it would spill out of the cake tin (as had happened before).. It kept rising and rising like a bag of popcorn (for the lack of a better description)…

More up and down and up and down and up and down

After the very emotionally-draining 1 hour 15 minutes of baking time (yes, it takes that long), I took the cake out of the oven and let it sit on the kitchen counter to cool. And it sank, sank, sank, sank, sank.. I’ve never seen a cake rise and sink so much before, but I was rather relieved that I don’t have a clumsy pillow-looking cake 😀

Up, up, up, up, UP!

Cutting the cake was an interesting experience. First you’d cut into the crispy crust, then the sticky mochi, and you need to struggle a little pulling the knife out of the cake. But still, I was excited!!

The best time to eat the cake is right after you cut it. Thick crispy crust on the outside, and warm chewy mochi all the way through… If you’re still worrying about the coconut, it turned out to not be so overpowering! That very night I ate 2 pieces, Mum ate 3 and little sis ate 1. The recipe makes a lot so I had enough cake to bring to school for the next 2 days!

CRUST

Ohhhhhhh.. CRUST!

I was absolutely crazy about the crust. I thought other bloggers were exaggerating (because sometimes they do) about the crust as being the best part of the cake, but NOOOO they are so right! The next time I make this again I would want to maximise the crusty surface area to volume ratio, by making cupcakes instead of a whole cake… Mmmmmm can you imagine how it’d be like?? I CAN! It doesn’t matter that they aren’t the prettiest cupcakes around, their taste and texture are just divine!

Look at the surface area : volume...

It’s time to give you the recipe! Hope the above description could help you identify the tricky bits, anticipate the unusual rising and falling, and make you more excited to eat your own creation!

This recipe makes a 9X13-inch cake, but I only made a 7X7-inch cake, 3 cupcakes and 1 mini cake.

Vanilla Bean Mochi Cake

(adapted from baking = love)

INGREDIENTS:

(For the dry ingredients)

1-1/2 cups caster sugar

3 cups glutinous rice flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

(For the wet ingredients)

1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled a little

4 eggs, beaten

1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk

1 (13 oz) can coconut milk

1 whole vanilla pod, cut lengthwise and scrape out the glorious vanilla beans

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Line your baking tin(s) with baking sheet.

Lined tin and my favourite measuring spoons

2. Put all the dry ingredients into a large bowl, and whisk to mix and get rid of lumps. Put all the wet ingredients into another bowl (Make sure that you’ve given time for your butter to cool, if not it will scramble your eggs)

Dry and wet ingredients

3. Pour all the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, whisk until smooth. (This might look like a daunting task when you see it, but it’s alright just use a whisk to slowly incorporate the wet and dry ingredients together)

Patience pays off

4. Pour cake mixture into the prepared tin(s) and bake for 1.5 hours, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean and the edges are pulling away from the tin. (It would take about 30-40 minutes for cupcakes, and 1.25-1.5 hours for a whole cake)

In the oven before the cakes started to rise

5. Cool completely in the pan before turning out. (You would notice that the cake is a bit wobbly and unstable when you take it out from the oven, just let it cool on the kitchen counter to let it sink and firm up)

Cutting through the cake

NOTE:

If you keep the cake overnight, the crust will most likely turn soggy. But do not fret, just toast the cake in a toaster oven for a few minutes before serving and the crust will be crispy again!

And another thing, the other bloggers also added that the cake can only be stored in an airtight container up to 3 days. I don’t know what would happen to it after 3 days, because I ran out of it by the second day 😛

One thought on ““Seriously Mochi” Cake

Leave a Reply

